The 2019 European Planetary Science Congress (EPSC).

This year GAS has a notable presence in the European Planetary Science Congress (EPSC) DPS Join Meeting, September 16th to 20th 2019 in Geneva, Switzerland. Since the first event in Berlin in 2006, the (EPSC) is the major European meeting on planetary science. The intention of the Congress is to cover a broad area of science topics related to planetary science and planetary missions and have a distinctively interactive style, with an extensive mix of talks, workshops and posters, intended to provide a stimulating environment for the community to meet.

EPSC has granted GAS PhD candidates, Abhilash Vakkada and Miracle Israel Nazarious with Bursary awards that are offered to early career researchers to participate in the Conference. The participation of Abhilash Vakkada will also be supported by the Swedish National Space Agency (SNSA). Abhilash Vakkada will present a poster describing the “SpaceQ chamber: the environment simulator for planetary exploration instrumentation and research”. The SpaceQ is a space and Mars environment chamber which has recently been commissioned and is currently in operation by the GAS group. The HABIT engineering qualification model (EQM) has been tested inside the chamber to test for launch and cruise phase to Mars. This presentation will give an initial idea of how the HABIT instrument will behave on Mars. Miracle Israel Nazarious will present the work “Calibration of ExoMars 2020 GTS (Ground Temperature Sensor) and its application on two band pyrometry” in a 15 minute oral presentation in the session “Upcoming and Future Planetary Missions and Instrumentation” where he will highlight the results from the calibration campaign of the flight model Ground Temperature Sensor (GTS) of the HABIT/ExoMars 2020 instrument.

September 17th poster session will also have a GAS contribution with a presentation of the Open Science project “Open Space Agency (OSA): a digital platform for space co-research networking” co-authored by other GAS members and partners as Professors Javier Martin-Torres and Maria- Paz Zorzano Mier, José Antonio Gordillo Martorell, Abhilash Vakkada and David Cuartielles, the latter one from the Malmö University.

Abhilash Vakkada introducing the Open Space Agency Poster to a EPSC-DPS 2019 attendant | Caption: GAS Group
Abhilash Vakkada introducing the SpaceQ Chamber Poster EPSC-DPS 2019 attendants | Caption: GAS Group
Abhilash Vakkada introducing the SpaceQ Chamber Poster to Professor Nigel Mason, President of the Europlanet Society | Caption: GAS Group